Family Application
Family : Herrick
city: Canberra

Family Personal Details
Total number of children in your family: 3
Ages of the kids: 6 months; 4 years; 6 years
Families with babies under the age of two: Please note Au pairs do not take care of infants, an Au pair is not a qualified nanny, some of our au pairs have baby experience and are willing to care a baby as long as you give her some training on her arrival and do not expect her to be fully experienced with babies as they are not nannies.

Do you need the au pair to care for your baby?


Yes No
Will you be at home?

Yes No At the beginning Part time
Do you need the au pair to be managing all children the whole time? At what times: Not at all times, only when I’m at work
If you have several children, plus a young baby, is the au pair expected to care all children and the baby? Please give details Yes, on the days I’m working: in the mornings in preparation for school and for school drop off; in the afternoons for school pick-up, dinner, bath & bed time.
Father’s occupation: N/A
Mother’s occupation:  Doctor
Which language is mainly spoken at home? English
Are you a single parent? Yes
Is a baby expected? No
The Family Home
Describe the area you live in as some au pairs have preferences for specific regions.

what’s the nearest big city to your home.


Canberra – the Bush Capital! Lots of beautiful walks and gardens, plus cafes, restaurants and bars for the discerning foodie!
Do you live in a Big City, Small Town or Countryside:
City Small Town Big Town Country
Do you live in a remote area? If you live in a small town are there enough activities for her to do?  Not remote
Some au pairs may have an allergy to pet hair
Do you have any pets, if so please describe where are they kept at home
Cat who roams the house
Please describe your home and accommodation for example number of bedrooms, bathrooms, garden, facilities such as dishwasher, swimming pool, domestic help,etc 5 bedroom, 3 bathrooms with a separate wing for a live-in nanny/au pair; garden and pool; dishwasher; full laundry with washing machine and dryer; housekeeper; PA
Please describe the Aupair’s accommodation (e.g. own bathroom, television, radio, dressing table, computer, etc) Own bedroom with a double bed (all linen included), built in wardrobe, shelves, and private en suite.
How far is the local bus stop or train station? End of the street to the nearest bus stop
How far is the nearest beach? A few hours drive
Your Requirements
Preferred starting date: (month) May
When is the latest she can arrive? TBA
Nationalities; We are limited to a certain number of countries that au pairs, can come from. We cannot take girls from just any country as there are no au pair visas to Australia.  The applicants have to come in on a Working Holiday Visa.

The accepted countries under this visa are:

Belgium Germany Sweden
Canada Ireland United Kingdom
Denmark Italy USA
Finland Netherlands
France Norway  
Do you require girls from an specific nationality only? if yes, which one? No
If yes, will you consider profiles of other nationalities?
Will you accept a male au pair? No
Do you require an au pair with driving license? Yes
Would you consider non driver au pairs as well? No
Light Housework
Please note that an au pair is not a housekeeper, her main duty is to care your children, to ensure the success of her stay with you is important no to over burden them.
Please mark which of these duties your au pair will be expected to do
Wash up/clear after meals X Ironing
Prepare kids meals (not cooking for family) X Driving children X
laundry Supervise bedtime X
Grocery shopping Supervise homework X
Occasional Vacuum Bathing children X
Help with pets X  
About the job
Please describe your family for example: active/busy/quiet,likes/dislikes, special needs, health problems We’re a busy, fun-loving, happy family who enjoys imaginative play, playgrounds, craft and games.
How many hours per week would the Au pair work?

(up to 40 per week) 

Pocket money per week offered, minimum  weekly stipend of $7 AUD per hour $250-$400 negotiable
Please describe her duties and working hours from Monday to Friday: (please note that au pairs should have most weekends free to catch up with other au pairs and avoid homesick) ·       ~60 hours/fortnight

·       Caring for a 6-month-old while I’m at work (shared over the week with grandparents)

·       Running the older kids to-and-from school (also shared between grandparents and another part-time nanny)

·       Light household duties such as tidying, organising, and keeping the kitchen clean (no regular cleaning or laundry duties required, as we have a housekeeper)

·       Being able to independently manage dinner, bath, and bedtime on the days when I’m working late

·       Getting the older children ready for school

·       Being available on the nights I’m on call for work

·       Preparing/organising most dinners

·       General assistance with the children and around the house when I’m home

·       Odd-jobs and running errands


Hours are variable on a four weekly rotating roster according to my work. Some days during the week will be completely free (when I’m not working), some may be morning drop off only, and others may be morning through evening.

Would you let the au pair to study some hours during the day to improve her English? Yes, of course!
Any additional incentives: for example holidays, use of car, paid phone calls, help with travel fares and college fees, local activities and places of interest.  

·       Your own wing of the house, including bedroom and private en suite. There is a double bed + mattress, built in wardrobe, and shelves. All linen provided. The room also exits out onto the outside path with direct access to the side gate, so you can come and go at your leisure when not working if you wish

·       Full access to WiFi

·       Full access to Netflix, Disney +, apple TV etc

·       All groceries/amenities paid for

·       Petrol and ‘going out’ cash

·       Access to a car if required

·       Most weekends off

·       The opportunity to explore Australia’s Bush Capital, full of beautiful gardens and mountains to climb. There are also lots of restaurant, bars, and cafes to explore for those who are foodies! An easy drive to Sydney for weekends away, as well as the coast, where all the beaches are on offer.

·       4 weeks off per year

·       Other monetary aid/incentives as negotiated



Au pairs are entitled to one of the following:

Au pair Bonus: End of stay bonus

In addition to the weekly pocket money, host families pay a $500 end of stay bonus, on completion of the 6 month program. 

Please provide further detail of duties if required:


What we need

A kind, patient, and fun-loving person who understands children and enjoys spending time and playing games with them. The ability to gently enforce boundaries and take the children out for adventures. A love of little babies and feeling comfortable looking after them. Being able to cook and drive is a must, as well as share in the organisation and running of a busy household. Flexibility is also required, as my work can be unpredictable at times.