family Cox


Family Application
family: Cox
city: Newcastle

State: New South Wales

Family Personal Details
Mother’s name and country of birth: Kate Cox (Australia)
Father’s name and country of birth: Cameron Cox (Australia)
Total number of children in your family: 2
Ages of the kids: 6 and 3
Families with babies under the age of two: Please note Au pairs do not take care of infants, an Au pair is not a qualified nanny, some of our au pairs have baby experience and are willing to care a baby as long as you give her some training on her arrival and do not expect her to be fully experienced with babies as they are not nannies.

Do you need the au pair to care for your baby?


Yes No
Will you be at home?

Yes No At the beginning Part time
Do you need the au pair to be managing all children the whole time? At what times: No
If you have several children, plus a young baby, is the au pair expected to care all children and the baby? Please give details No
Father’s occupation: Safety Consultant
Mother’s occupation:  Doctor
Which language is mainly spoken at home? English
Are you a single parent? No
Is a baby expected? No
The Family Home
Describe the area you live in as some au pairs have preferences for specific regions.

what’s the nearest big city to your home.


We live in Newcastle a city about 1.5hrs north of Sydney. We have excellent beaches and forests and very short drive to the Hunter Valley wine region. Newcastle is like a bigger city but much more relaxed and easier to get around.
Do you live in a Big City, Small Town or Countryside:
City Small Town Big Town Country
Do you live in a remote area? If you live in a small town are there enough activities for her to do?   
Some au pairs may have an allergy to pet hair
Do you have any pets, if so please describe where are they kept at home
No pets
Please describe your home and accommodation for example number of bedrooms, bathrooms, garden, facilities such as dishwasher, swimming pool, domestic help,etc We have a 4 bedroom home with one bath room. We have a backyard, double garage with a home gym. Our kitchen has a dishwasher, oven and stove.
Please describe the Aupair’s accommodation (e.g. own bathroom, television, radio, dressing table, computer, etc) Private bedroom that will have king size single bed, cupboards and a desk can also be arranged.
How far is the local bus stop or train station? Bus is 2min walk
How far is the nearest beach? The beach is 15 min drive
Your Requirements
Preferred starting date: (month) July
When is the latest she can arrive? As soon as possible
Nationalities; We are limited to a certain number of countries that au pairs, can come from. We cannot take girls from just any country as there are no au pair visas to Australia.  The applicants have to come in on a Working Holiday Visa.

The accepted countries under this visa are:

Belgium  Germany Sweden
Canada Ireland United Kingdom
Denmark Italy USA
Finland Netherlands
France Norway  
Do you require girls from an specific nationality only? if yes, which one? No, we are flexible
Will you accept a male au pair? No
Do you require an au pair with driving license? Yes
Would you consider non driver au pairs as well? No
Light Housework
Please note that an au pair is not a housekeeper, her main duty is to care your children, to ensure the success of her stay with you is important no to over burden them.
Please mark which of these duties your au pair will be expected to do
Wash up/clear after meals x Ironing
Prepare kids meals (not cooking for family) x Driving children x
laundry x Supervise bedtime x
Grocery shopping Supervise homework x
Occasional Vacuum x Bathing children x
Help with pets  
About the job
Please describe your family for example: active/busy/quiet,likes/dislikes, special needs, health problems We have two very activie boys, one who is in school (kindergarten) and the other currently attends daycare 4 days a week. They have lots of after school activities like swimming, piano lessons and appointments.
How many hours per week would the Au pair work?

(up to 40 per week) 

Pocket money per week offered, minimum  weekly stipend of $7 AUD per hour $300 per week
Please describe her duties and working hours from Monday to Friday: (please note that au pairs should have most weekends free to catch up with other au pairs and avoid homesick) Mon to Friday

7-9am, 3-7pm – middle of the day and weekends will typically be free. Happy to negotiate some flexibility

Would you let the au pair to study some hours during the day to improve her English? Yes, of course 😊
Any additional incentives: for example holidays, use of car, paid phone calls, help with travel fares and college fees, local activities and places of interest.  

Use of family vehicles will be ok (we have 2) after prior discussion. Will be able to join family holidays if they wish and we would cover the cost of accommodation.


Au pairs are entitled to one of the following:

Au pair Bonus: End of stay bonus

In addition to the weekly pocket money, host families pay a $500 end of stay bonus, on completion of the 6 month program. 

Please provide further detail of duties if required: