family Laflin


Family Application  
Family: Laflin  
city: Melbourne

State: VIC  

Family Personal Details
Mother’s name and country of birth: Clare Exell – Australia  
Father’s name and country of birth: David Laflin – UK  
Total number of children in your family: 3  
Ages of the kids:    
Families with babies under the age of two: Please note Au pairs do not take care of infants, an Au pair is not a qualified nanny, some of our au pairs have baby experience and are willing to care a baby as long as you give her some training on her arrival and do not expect her to be fully experienced with babies as they are not nannies.  

Do you need the au pair to care for your baby?


Yes No
Will you be at home?

Yes No At the beginning Part time
Do you need the au pair to be managing all children the whole time? At what times: Full care two days per week. Drop off and pick up from Childcare other week days.  
If you have several children, plus a young baby, is the au pair expected to care all children and the baby? Please give details Full care for all three children two days per week. Children will be in long day childcare/kindergarten the other days of the week.  
Father’s occupation: Marketing Manager  
Mother’s occupation:  Lawyer  
Which language is mainly spoken at home? English (French by Mother)  
Are you a single parent? No  
Is a baby expected? No  
The Family Home  
Describe the area you live in as some au pairs have preferences for specific regions.

what’s the nearest big city to your home.


We live in an inner North Suburb, Brunswick (20 minutes from Melbourne CBD)  
Do you live in a Big City, Small Town or Countryside:
City Small Town Big Town Country
Do you live in a remote area? If you live in a small town are there enough activities for her to do?  We live in a Major City  
Some au pairs may have an allergy to pet hair
Do you have any pets, if so please describe where are they kept at home
No Pets  
Please describe your home and accommodation for example number of bedrooms, bathrooms, garden, facilities such as dishwasher, swimming pool, domestic help,etc Our home is a 4 bedroom house with nice garden set in a quite street. There are many parks within walking distance and good shopping also within walking distance. There is a shared family bathroom and separate shower room.  
Please describe the Aupair’s accommodation (e.g. own bathroom, television, radio, dressing table, computer, etc) The Au Pair would have their own large bedroom with wardrobe, radio, television and writing desk  
How far is the local bus stop or train station? 2 minutes walk to bus and train  
How far is the nearest beach? 9km  
Your Requirements  
Preferred starting date: (month) September 2022  
When is the latest she can arrive? October 2022  
Nationalities; We are limited to a certain number of countries that au pairs, can come from. We cannot take girls from just any country as there are no au pair visas to Australia.  The applicants have to come in on a Working Holiday Visa.

The accepted countries under this visa are:

Belgium  Germany Sweden
Canada Ireland United Kingdom
Denmark Italy USA
Finland Netherlands  
France Norway  
Do you require girls from an specific nationality only? if yes, which one? No  
If yes, will you consider profiles of other nationalities?    
Will you accept a male au pair? Yes  
Do you require an au pair with driving license? Yes  
Would you consider non driver au pairs as well? No  
Light Housework  
Please note that an au pair is not a housekeeper, her main duty is to care your children, to ensure the success of her stay with you is important no to over burden them.  
Please mark which of these duties your au pair will be expected to do  
Wash up/clear after meals x Ironing    
Prepare kids meals (not cooking for family) x Driving children x
laundry   Supervise bedtime  
Grocery shopping   Supervise homework  
Occasional Vacuum   Bathing children  
Help with pets      
About the job  
Please describe your family for example: active/busy/quiet,likes/dislikes, special needs, health problems Hard working family. Active but cooperative, kind and happy children. The children respond well to confident people.  
How many hours per week would the Au pair work?

(up to 40 per week) 

Minimum 30 hours per week. All mid week hours. No weekend hours required.  
Pocket money per week offered, minimum  weekly stipend of $7 AUD per hour $7 per hour  
Please describe her duties and working hours from Monday to Friday: (please note that au pairs should have most weekends free to catch up with other au pairs and avoid homesick) Three days per week will involve pick up and drop off from Childcare. Two days per week will be spent caring for the children at home.

Evening meals are to be prepared for the children and they will need to be fed.

Would you let the au pair to study some hours during the day to improve her English? Yes this can be accommodated  
Any additional incentives: for example holidays, use of car, paid phone calls, help with travel fares and college fees, local activities and places of interest. Item provided will be use of a car, paid mobile phone, laptop, travel card, bike.



Au pairs are entitled to one of the following:

Au pair Bonus: End of stay bonus

In addition to the weekly pocket money, host families pay a $500 end of stay bonus, on completion of the 6 month program.