family McClelland


Family Application
Name and Surname: McClelland
city: (Lake Macquarie, near Newcastle)

Family Personal Details
Mother’s name and country of birth: Amy McClelland, Australia
Father’s name and country of birth: Shayne McClelland, Australia
Total number of children in your family: 2
Ages of the kids: 5 & 13
Families with babies under the age of two: Please note Au pairs do not take care of infants, an Au pair is not a qualified nanny, some of our au pairs have baby experience and are willing to care a baby as long as you give her some training on her arrival and do not expect her to be fully experienced with babies as they are not nannies.

Do you need the au pair to care for your baby?


Yes No
Will you be at home?

Yes No At the beginning Part time
Do you need the au pair to be managing all children the whole time? At what times: Before and after school on weekdays
If you have several children, plus a young baby, is the au pair expected to care all children and the baby? Please give details N/A
Father’s occupation: Power Plant Operator
Mother’s occupation:  Town Planner
Which language is mainly spoken at home? English
Are you a single parent? No
Is a baby expected? No
The Family Home
Describe the area you live in as some au pairs have preferences for specific regions.

what’s the nearest big city to your home.


Large house in cul de sac overlooking Lake Macquarie. Eleebana is a quiet and leafy suburb 20 minutes from the regional city of Newcastle and 1.5 hrs north of Sydney. We have many local cafes, walking and cycle paths, parks and beaches locally and there is a bus stop a 3 minute walk from our house.
Do you live in a Big City, Small Town or Countryside:
City Small Town Big Town The Country
Suburb in city      
Do you live in a remote area? If you live in a small town are there enough activities for her to do?  N/A
Some au pairs may have an allergy to pet hair
Do you have any pets, if so please describe where are they kept at home
We have an indoor cat and 2 pugs that are sometimes indoors. The pets are only allowed upstairs, whilst the au pair’s bedroom, lounge and bathroom is downstairs and will be pet free.
Please describe your home and accommodation for example number of bedrooms, bathrooms, garden, facilities such as dishwasher, swimming pool, domestic help,etc 5 bedroom home with 2 lounge rooms, large kitchen, study and 3 bathrooms. Pool, yard and double garage. Lake views. Verandah.
Please describe the Aupair’s accommodation (e.g. own bathroom, television, radio, dressing table, computer, etc) Own bedroom with queen sized bed, built in wardrobe, dressing table. Open plan lounge room with tv, large lounge setting, table and 4 chairs, bookshelf, ping pong table. Bathroom / laundry with toilet, basin and shower. Laundry used by family but bathroom is otherwise exclusively for the au pairs use. Wifi.
How far is the local bus stop or train station? 3 minutes walk
How far is the nearest beach? 13 minutes drive
Your Requirements
Preferred starting date: (month) July (late July)
When is the latest she can arrive? September
Nationalities; We are limited to a certain number of countries that au pairs, can come from. We cannot take girls from just any country as there are no au pair visas to Australia.  The applicants have to come in on a Working Holiday Visa.

The accepted countries under this visa are:

Belgium  Germany Sweden
Canada Ireland United Kingdom
Denmark Italy USA
Finland Netherlands
France Norway  
Do you require girls from an specific nationality only? if yes, which one? No preference
If yes, will you consider profiles of other nationalities?
Will you accept a male au pair? No
Do you require an au pair with driving license? Yes
Would you consider non driver au pairs as well? No
Light Housework
Please note that an au pair is not a housekeeper, her main duty is to care your children, to ensure the success of her stay with you is important no to over burden them.
Please mark which of these duties your au pair will be expected to do
Wash up/clear after meals Ironing
Prepare kids meals (not cooking for family) Driving children
laundry Supervise bedtime
Grocery shopping Supervise homework
Occasional Vacuum Bathing children
Help with pets  
About the job
Please describe your family for example: active/busy/quiet,likes/dislikes, special needs, health problems Kids play soccer and tennis and train during the week. No health problems or special needs. Kids are happy and easy going. Our 5 year old is funny and bubbly and our 13 year old is sweet and conscientious.
How many hours per week would the Au pair work?

(up to 40 per week) 

Pocket money per week offered, minimum  weekly stipend of $7 AUD per hour Unsure but flexible.
Please describe her duties and working hours from Monday to Friday: (please note that au pairs should have most weekends free to catch up with other au pairs and avoid homesick) Getting kids ready for school in the morning, packing lunches (occasionally) and making sure Bronte catches the bus. Taking Angus to school if needed (the school is a 5 minute drive from home or a 15 minute walk). Some light housekeeping while kids are at school. Feeding pets. Walking dogs. Collecting Angus from school at 3pm. Taking kids to sports practice after school where needed. Homework assistance, afternoon tea prep for kids, some meal prep so that I can cook when I get home (chopping veg etc). Bathing Angus when I do not get home in time.

Before school roughly 7:30-9am

Housework/general duties 2 hours a day

After school: 2-3 hours

Weekday duties only with weekends free.

Would you let the au pair to study some hours during the day to improve her English? Of course
Any additional incentives: for example holidays, use of car, paid phone calls, help with travel fares and college fees, local activities and places of interest. Free wifi, some use of car, some holidays.



Au pairs are entitled to one of the following:

Au pair Bonus: End of stay bonus

In addition to the weekly pocket money, host families pay a $500 end of stay bonus, on completion of the 6 month program.