family McIntosh


Family Application  
Family: McIntosh

City: Horsham  
State: Victoria  

Family Personal Details
Total number of children in your family: 1  
Ages of the kids: 14 months (May 2021)  
Families with babies under the age of two: Please note Au pairs do not take care of infants, an Au pair is not a qualified nanny, some of our au pairs have baby experience and are willing to care a baby as long as you give her some training on her arrival and do not expect her to be fully experienced with babies as they are not nannies.  

Do you need the au pair to care for your baby?


Yes No
Will you be at home?

Yes No At the beginning Part time
Do you need the au pair to be managing all children the whole time? At what times: Mum is a shift worker, so times will be differing. Care will be required whilst mum and dad are both at work. Hours can be from 4-9hrs.  
If you have several children, plus a young baby, is the au pair expected to care all children and the baby? Please give details Young child will be needed to be cared for. He is 14 months old.  
Father’s occupation: Livestock Agent  
Mother’s occupation:  Registered Midwife  
Which language is mainly spoken at home? English  
Are you a single parent? No  
Is a baby expected? No  
The Family Home  
Describe the area you live in as some au pairs have preferences for specific regions.

what’s the nearest big city to your home.


The closest town is Horsham where general grocery, household and essential shopping items can be purchased.

Melbourne (major city) is 3.5 hours by train

Adelaide is a 4hrs drive.

Halls Gap is a 40 mins drive.

Do you live in a Big City, Small Town or Countryside:
City Small Town Big Town The Country
Do you live in a remote area? If you live in a small town are there enough activities for her to do?  Yes, we live on a 14 acre property. We are only a short drive from many tourist destinations.   
Some au pairs may have an allergy to pet hair
Do you have any pets, if so please describe where are they kept at home
We have 4 working dogs (Kelpies) that live outside, 1 Spoodle (hyper-allergenic) puppy that lives inside, sheep/lambs around the property and chickens.  
Please describe your home and accommodation for example number of bedrooms, bathrooms, garden, facilities such as dishwasher, swimming pool, domestic help,etc We live in a rural property on 14 acres. The home has 4 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. We have a wood fire for heating and ducted cooling for summer. One lounge room. There is a dishwasher, washing machine and dryer available for use.  
Please describe the Aupair’s accommodation (e.g. own bathroom, television, radio, dressing table, computer, etc) Own bungaloo accommodation separate to house with private ensuite. There is a TV, bar fridge and cooking facilities inside. Built in robe and chest of drawers for clothing. There is a heating and cooling system available for use.  
How far is the local bus stop or train station? 25 mins drive to train station. Buses available around area.  
How far is the nearest beach? We have many rivers/lakes around area. Nearest beach would be Warrnambool which is a 2.5hr drive.  
Your Requirements  
Preferred starting date: (month) As soon as possible  
Nationalities; We are limited to a certain number of countries that au pairs, can come from. We cannot take girls from just any country as there are no au pair visas to Australia.  The applicants have to come in on a Working Holiday Visa.

The accepted countries under this visa are:

Belgium  Germany Sweden
Canada Ireland United Kingdom
Denmark Italy USA
Finland Netherlands  
France Norway  
Do you require girls from an specific nationality only? if yes, which one? No preference  
Will you accept a male au pair? Preferably not  
Do you require an au pair with driving license? Not essential  
Would you consider non driver au pairs as well? Yes  
Light Housework  
Please note that an au pair is not a housekeeper, her main duty is to care your children, to ensure the success of her stay with you is important no to over burden them.  
Please mark which of these duties your au pair will be expected to do  
Wash up/clear after meals Yes Ironing No  
Prepare kids meals (not cooking for family) Yes Driving children Not essential
laundry Not essential Supervise bedtime No
Grocery shopping No Supervise homework No
Occasional Vacuum Yes Bathing children No
Help with pets Sometimes    
About the job  
Please describe your family for example: active/busy/quiet,likes/dislikes, special needs, health problems Busy full time working parents. In our spare time we are either working around the home on the property or at our 200 acres. Dad loves fishing and will take the boat out regularly, often taking trips down to Warrnambool/Portland. Mum loves exploring on her days off and will often go for drives to nearest markets.  
How many hours per week would the Au pair work?

(up to 40 per week) 

Dad works full time Monday to Friday. Mum works shift work Monday to Sunday. Au Pair would be required to assist with care needs of the baby while both parents are at work. Hours are dependent on roster, minimum 10 hours per week up to 40 hours.  
Pocket money per week offered, minimum  weekly stipend of $7 AUD per hour Yes  
Please describe her duties and working hours from Monday to Friday: (please note that au pairs should have most weekends free to catch up with other au pairs and avoid homesick) Providing care to our child, including feeding, playing, settling for naps and general tidy up.  
Would you let the au pair to study some hours during the day to improve her English? Yes of course  
Au pairs are entitled to one of the following:

Au pair Bonus: End of stay bonus

In addition to the weekly pocket money, host families pay a $500 end of stay bonus, on completion of the 6 month program.