family McKenna


Family Application  
Family: McKenna

city: Adelaide  

Family Personal Details
Total number of children in your family: 1 and expecting number 2 in December 2022  
Ages of the kids: Giles is 1 years old as at June 2022  
Families with babies under the age of two: Please note Au pairs do not take care of infants, an Au pair is not a qualified nanny, some of our au pairs have baby experience and are willing to care a baby as long as you give her some training on her arrival and do not expect her to be fully experienced with babies as they are not nannies.  

Do you need the au pair to care for your baby?


Yes No
Will you be at home?

Yes No At the beginning Part time
      Mother part-time then full time when number 2 arrives. Father part-time as he primarily works from home.
Do you need the au pair to be managing all children the whole time? At what times: No  
If you have several children, plus a young baby, is the au pair expected to care all children and the baby? Please give details No, primarily Giles and at this stage – picking him up from childcare and getting him ready for dinner on Mondays. Looking after Giles all day Tuesday, Thursday and Fridays. Father will take Wednesdays. Intermittant help on weekends (if needed to make up to 30 hours per week eg a Saturday or Sunday morning or unless there are extenuating circumstances).  
Father’s occupation: Small business owner  
Mother’s occupation:  University researcher / lecturer  
Which language is mainly spoken at home? English (noting mother also speaks Punjabi)  
Are you a single parent? No  
Is a baby expected? Yes, in December 2022  
The Family Home  
Describe the area you live in as some au pairs have preferences for specific regions.

what’s the nearest big city to your home.


We live in the western suburbs of Adelaide, less than 10 minutes drive from beautiful Grange and Henley Beaches plus 10 minutes drive to the CBD of Adelaide heading east. We are also less than 1km from Linear Park, a fantastic parkway which extends from Henley Beach to the foot of the Adelaide Hills. Last and not least, we are within 45 minutes drive of three amazing wine regions, the Barossa Valley, McLaren Vale and Adelaide Hills.  
Do you live in a Big City, Small Town or Countryside:
City Small Town Big Town The Country
Do you live in a remote area? If you live in a small town are there enough activities for her to do?     
Some au pairs may have an allergy to pet hair
Do you have any pets, if so please describe where are they kept at home
No pets  
Please describe your home and accommodation for example number of bedrooms, bathrooms, garden, facilities such as dishwasher, swimming pool, domestic help,etc We live in a late 1960’s double brick house which has had periodic renovations since to kitchen and bathrooms. Three bedroom and two bathrooms. We also have reverse cycle ducted air-conditioning, a dishwasher, washing machine and dryer.  
Please describe the Aupair’s accommodation (e.g. own bathroom, television, radio, dressing table, computer, etc) Aupair will have the second bedroom which has a fairly new and hardly used double bed with a bedside table and lamp. There is also a built in wardrobe. A desk can be arranged if necessary. We have wifi connected to high speed broadband. We also have Netflix on the television in our living room.  
How far is the local bus stop or train station? We have local bus stops within a few hundred metres walk with regular connections to both the city and beach.  
How far is the nearest beach? Our closest beach is 5 km away (Grange Beach) or just under 10 minutes drive.  
Your Requirements  
Preferred starting date: (month) September 2022  
When is the latest she can arrive? October 2022  
Nationalities; We are limited to a certain number of countries that au pairs, can come from. We cannot take girls from just any country as there are no au pair visas to Australia.  The applicants have to come in on a Working Holiday Visa.

The accepted countries under this visa are:

Belgium  Germany Sweden
Canada Ireland United Kingdom
Denmark Italy USA
Finland Netherlands  
France Norway  
Do you require girls from an specific nationality only? if yes, which one? Prefer European  
Will you accept a male au pair? No  
Do you require an au pair with driving license? Yes  
Would you consider non driver au pairs as well? No  
Light Housework  
Please note that an au pair is not a housekeeper, her main duty is to care your children, to ensure the success of her stay with you is important no to over burden them.  
Please mark which of these duties your au pair will be expected to do  
Wash up/clear after meals X Supervised help with some family meal preparation X  
Prepare kids meals X Driving children X
laundry X Supervise bedtime X
Grocery shopping X Supervise homework  
Occasional Vacuum X Bathing children X
Help with pets   Ironing (limited) X
About the job  
Please describe your family for example: active/busy/quiet,likes/dislikes, special needs, health problems We are a fairly busy and active family and definitely enjoy making the most of the beautiful location we live in. We are also into our running, being involved in a social running group and otherwise get out for a run several times a week. After a busy day working, we like to wind down at night and typically get to bed around 10 to 10:30pm.  
How many hours per week would the Au pair work?

(up to 40 per week) 

Approximately 30 hours per week  
Pocket money per week offered, minimum  weekly stipend of $7 AUD per hour Pocket money of $8 per hour  
Please describe her duties and working hours from Monday to Friday: (please note that au pairs should have most weekends free to catch up with other au pairs and avoid homesick) Monday: Approx. 4:30 pm to 6:30 pm (Picking Giles up from childcare, getting his dinner ready)

Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays: Approx. 8 am to 6 pm (looking after Giles all day, including preparing his meals and helping with some light housework eg laundry, occasional vacuum or ironing, supervised help with preparing family meals)

Weekends: typically off unless 30 hours not reached during week then maybe taking Giles on a Saturday or Sunday morning

Would you let the au pair to study some hours during the day to improve her English? The au pair will typically have day time to herself on Mondays and Wednesdays. Willing to discuss day time study of English as long as not too disruptive to Giles’ care during the daytime.  
Any additional incentives: for example holidays, use of car, paid phone calls, help with travel fares and college fees, local activities and places of interest. Use of car if not otherwise needed by family (aupair will only need to pay for fuel if she does trips outside local area). Use of ladies bike. As a family, we will take the aurpair to local places of interest and include her in any activities (including social gatherings).  
Au pairs are entitled to one of the following:

Au pair Bonus: End of stay bonus

In addition to the weekly pocket money, host families pay a $500 end of stay bonus, on completion of the 6 month program. 

Please provide further detail of duties if required:


Given the father is a small business owner, the family will expect the aupair to be somewhat flexible with the exact days worked although we will keep to at least 30 hours, definitely not exceeding 40, and provide weekends off unless we occasionally need extra help. Within reason, we will also try and accommodate the aupair’s needs regarding work on certain days/nights.