family Portia


Family Application
Family: Portia

city: Melbourne

Family Personal Details
Total number of children in your family: 1 child, and currently 14 weeks pregnant
Ages of the kids: 16 months
Families with babies under the age of two: Please note Au pairs do not take care of infants, an Au pair is not a qualified nanny, some of our au pairs have baby experience and are willing to care a baby as long as you give her some training on her arrival and do not expect her to be fully experienced with babies as they are not nannies.

Do you need the au pair to care for your baby?


Yes No
Will you be at home?

Yes No At the beginning Part time
X     X
Do you need the au pair to be managing all children the whole time? At what times: Some days we will require care from 8am to 6pm, other days only a few hours.
If you have several children, plus a young baby, is the au pair expected to care all children and the baby? Please give details Yes, care for our current 16 month old. When the newborn arrives, I (mother) will be doing predominant care but may need help with nappy change, bottle feed, etc.
Father’s occupation: Self employed
Mother’s occupation:  Self employed
Which language is mainly spoken at home? English
Are you a single parent? No
Is a baby expected? Yes, due in December 2022
The Family Home
Describe the area you live in as some au pairs have preferences for specific regions.

what’s the nearest big city to your home.


Our home is in South Eastern suburban Melbourne surrounded by schools, residential, and community grounds. We live opposite a childrens park and have good access to a number of shopping centers and community facilities (sporting grounds, walking paths, etc.). We have multiple bus stops near by and train station approx. 7 minute drive away. The biggest city near our home is Melbourne. We are approx. 40 minutes from the CBD.
Do you live in a Big City, Small Town or Countryside:
City Small Town Big Town The Country
Do you live in a remote area? If you live in a small town are there enough activities for her to do?  We are 40 minutes from the CBD, but there are major shopping centers within 15 – 25 minute drive
Some au pairs may have an allergy to pet hair
Do you have any pets, if so please describe where are they kept at home
No pets
Please describe your home and accommodation for example number of bedrooms, bathrooms, garden, facilities such as dishwasher, swimming pool, domestic help,etc Our home is 4 bedroom & 2 bathroom open plan home with an entertainer style backyard. We have full heating and cooling for the home along with dishwasher, stove top, oven, washing machine, and much more. We have an excellent home entertainment system for movie night. We have cleaners that come once a week.
Please describe the Aupair’s accommodation (e.g. own bathroom, television, radio, dressing table, computer, etc) The aupair would have their own private bedroom which has a large mirror and view of outside and access to a bathroom that is attached to the bedroom. There are multiple home entertainment areas for them to utilise along with Google Home system (can listen to the radio, songs, ask about the weather & traffic, etc.). They can store their toiletries and beauty products in draws and cupboards in the bathroom.
How far is the local bus stop or train station? Bus stop, 5 minute walk. Train station, 10 minute drive.
How far is the nearest beach? 20-25 minute drive
Your Requirements
Preferred starting date: (month) August 2022
When is the latest she can arrive? September 2022
Nationalities; We are limited to a certain number of countries that au pairs, can come from. We cannot take girls from just any country as there are no au pair visas to Australia.  The applicants have to come in on a Working Holiday Visa.

The accepted countries under this visa are:

Belgium  Germany Sweden
Canada Ireland United Kingdom
Denmark Italy USA
Finland Netherlands
France Norway  
Do you require girls from an specific nationality only? if yes, which one? No
If yes, will you consider profiles of other nationalities?
Will you accept a male au pair? NO
Do you require an au pair with driving license? Yes
Would you consider non driver au pairs as well? Yes
Light Housework
Please note that an au pair is not a housekeeper, her main duty is to care your children, to ensure the success of her stay with you is important no to over burden them.
Please mark which of these duties your au pair will be expected to do
Wash up/clear after meals Yes Ironing Occassionally
Prepare kids meals (not cooking for family) Yes Driving children Occassionally
laundry Childs only Supervise bedtime Occassionally
Grocery shopping Occassionally Supervise homework No
Occasional Vacuum Yes Bathing children Occassionally
Help with pets No  
About the job
Please describe your family for example: active/busy/quiet,likes/dislikes, special needs, health problems We are a busy but quiet family. We run our own business so the workload can go from predicatable and steady to heavy load and all hands on deck. Our time is dedicated to our daughter, our business, and our home. We aren’t big entertainers but occasionally have family member(s) over for a short visit. We like to go to the movies in the evening so we would need the aupair to make sure bubs stays asleep (she sleeps 12-14 hours straight) and is safe.
How many hours per week would the Au pair work?

(up to 40 per week) 

40 hours
Pocket money per week offered, minimum  weekly stipend of $7 AUD per hour $350-$400 per week
Please describe her duties and working hours from Monday to Friday: (please note that au pairs should have most weekends free to catch up with other au pairs and avoid homesick) If bub wakes up early then getting the baby up and changing her nappy. Preparing her a breakfast (porridge with fruit) and feeding her. If we are unable to give her the morning bath then bathing her. General play and snacks/meals throughout the day if we are unavailable. Normally she naps with her dad around midday. Dinner is around 6pm with bedtime around 6:30pm-7pm.
Would you let the au pair to study some hours during the day to improve her English? Yes
Any additional incentives: for example holidays, use of car, paid phone calls, help with travel fares and college fees, local activities and places of interest.  


We regularly have conferences and business trips so the aupair would come with us to look after bubs. This can be from local trips to trips to Hamilton Island (QLD). If we needed the aupair to take bubs to a lesson or appointment and she is legally able to drive then she an use the car.

Happy to pay for aupair’s phone plan.

Lots of community facilities around.

We need the aupair to be able to travel with us wherever we go (local, interstate, etc.).

Au pairs are entitled to one of the following:

Au pair Bonus: End of stay bonus

In addition to the weekly pocket money, host families pay a $500 end of stay bonus, on completion of the 6 month program.